Dan Nagle Walnut Grove Pioneer Village, Long Grove, Iowa
Out near the small town of Long Grove in the Scott County Park are over eighteen restored buidlings that have been moved in from other parts of the county to form a pioneer village similar to many settled in the early days of Scott County. Among them are an old bank, saloon, one-room school, blacksmith shop, general store, and a place where a cobbler worked. An old 1853 church, called St. Ann’s, has been added to the village. There are 3 acres with historic buildings on them.
The Village includes 18 historic buildings. These include: Antique Farm Machinery Building • Barber Shop • Bison Saloon • Blacksmith Shop • Boothill Cemetery • Carpenter Shop • Chicago, Burlington, & Quincy Caboose 14353 • Doctor’s Office • Donahue Train Depot • Firehouse • Garage • Keppy & Nagle General Store • Savings Bank • Schaff Cabin • School Museum • Soda Fountain Shop • Telephone Office • The Ox Locomotive • Tobin Cabin
The beautiful sanctuary of Olde St. Ann’s Church has served generations of Scott County residents for more than a century. Since its relocation to Scott County Park’s historic Dan Nagle Walnut Grove Pioneer Village, the picturesque church, nestled amongst the rolling hills of northern Scott County, continues to provide that perfect setting for a traditional wedding.
Administered by the Scott County Conservation Board, Olde St. Ann’s is a popular place for hundreds of nondenominational weddings every year. The church has seating for 250 and is heated and air-conditioned.
Hours: Open Daily April – October 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Directions: From U.S. 61: Exit #129 from U.S. 61, East on 267th St., North on Scott Park Rd., East on 290th St.
Address: 18817 290th St. City, Long Grove, Iowa