Victorian On Main Museum – Emmetsburg, Iowa

Victorian On Main MuseumVictorian On Main Museum – Emmetsburg, Iowa

This home at 1703 E. Main is considered to be the “crown jewel” of the many Victorian homes to be found in Emmetsburg. It was built in 1883 as a wedding present from Edwin and Mary Ormsby to their daughter Myrtie and her husband, George Consigny, Jr. The house consists of two parlors, formal and informal dining rooms, kitchen, two bedrooms, nursery, upstairs bath, and maid’s quarters. Thre is a stairway in the front and in the back; on the front and one side is a wrap-around porch. The house had stood empty for many years; in 1992 a group of community leaders began the process of restoring the house and furnishing it as it would have appeared in 1883. The interior woodwork and the stained- and leaded-glass windows are excellent examples of what might be found in a typical Victorian home.

Nearby is the Palo Alto County Historical Museum located in the former Free Methodist Church building. Here visitors can look at treasures reflecting life as it took place in the Palo Alto area. Close to this building is a log cabin that had belonged to the Jackman family and the John B. Kelly Annex. In the latter are housed such items as: early local farm implements and household items. A complete full butcher shop is displayed.

Admission – (None)

Directions – 1703 E. Main, Emmetsburg, Iowa 50536

Hours – 1:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m., Thursday, Sunday (or by appointment)

Phone – (712) 852-3871 or (712) 852-2283  

 

Speak Your Mind

*