Call’s daughter donated the land for the park in honor of her father. In the park is located a log cabin that is typical of the ones built in the area—made of elm logs. This log cabin has been moved from its original site into the park. Visitors can take part in a variety of activities such as picnicking, camping, and hiking but there is no place for fishing and swimming. They will find a number of shaded and grassy picnic areas. The park has available 20 tree-shaded camping sites; over half include electrical hookups. Camping permits are obtained by self-registration. Over five miles of trails wind through rugged hills and along a picturesque meandering stream. Cross country skiing is permitted in the wintertime.
A log cabin-style lodge built in 1928 is available for various types of group activities such as meetings, family reunions, and receptions. It can be reserved through the park ranger.
Directions – take County Road B40 1 and ½ miles southwest of town from Algona, Iowa 50511
Hours – sunrise to sunset
Phone – (515) 581-4835